Newfoundland & Labrador

Newfoundland/Labrador and it's counties are available to be hosted. Please contact me if you are interested in hosting this site.

Newfoundland, one of the Atlantic provinces of Canada, consisting of the island of Newfoundland, and on the mainland, a coastal portion of the Labrador region. The island of Newfoundland is situated off the East coast of North America between the Gulf of Saint Lawrence and the Atlantic Ocean. The Labrador portion is separated from the island by the Strait of Belle Isle and is bounded on the East by the Atlantic Ocean and on the South and West by Quebec Province.

Newfoundland became part of Canada on March 31, 1949, as the tenth province. Until the early 20th Century, it's economy was based completely on fishing. Mining now is now the dominant industry. The name Newfoundland appears in British records as early as 1502 and was applied to all newly discovered
areas in the North Atlantic.


Newfoundland & Labrador 

Bonavista Bay Burin Peninsula Central
Conception B N Fortune Bay Hermitage Bay
Labrador Northern Pen Notre Dame B
Placentia Bay South Coast Southern Shore
St. Mary's Bay St. John's East St. John's
Trinity Bay West Coast White Bay


Newfoundland facts:

Capital: St. John's
Floral Emblem: Pitcher Plant
Area: 156,185 sq. mi; including 13,140 sq mi. of inland water; 9th largest among the provinces and territories.
Coastline: 17,966 mi
Highest Point: 5240 ft, atop an unnamed peak of the Torngat Mountains
Lowest Point: Sea level along the Atlantic Ocean
Principal Rivers: Churchill, Exploits, Naskaupi, Gander
Principal Lakes: Melville, Michikamau, Grand, Lobstick


AHGP | AHGP Canada

 Add/Correct a Link

  Comments/Submit Data

Copyright 2005-2015 by Canadian Genealogy
The WebPages may be linked to but shall not be reproduced on another site without
written permission.