AHGP Canada



Manitoba, one of the Prairie provinces of Canada, in the central part of the country, bounded on the North by the Northwest Territories, on the NE by the Hudson Bay, on the East by Ontario, on the South by the states of Minnesota and North Dakota, and on the West by Saskatchewan.

Manitoba entered the Canadian confederation on July 15, 1870, as the fifth province. Manitoba has traditionally been known for it's agricultural, mining, forestry, and fishing. It is one of the leading manufacturing areas of Canada, but still remains dominated by the processing of primary products. The name Manitoba is taken from Lake Manitoba, which is an Indian word meaning, "great spirit's strait." It is called the Keystone Province.



Altona Ashern Austin Baldur
Beausejour Benito Birtle Boissevain
Brandon Carman Churchill Cormorant
Cranberry Portage Dauphin Dugald Ethelbert
Fisher Branch Flin Flon Gimli Glenboro
Grandview Grunthal Headingley Hodgson
Holland Killarney La Riviere Lac du Bonnet
Lake Audy Langruth Laurier Leaf Rapids
Lynn Lake MacGregor Manitou Melita
Minnedosa Morden Morris Neepawa
Notre-Dame-de-Lourdes Ochre River Onanole Otterburne
Pinawa Pine Falls Pine River Pointe du Bois
Portage-la-Prairie Rathwell Reston Roblin
Rosser Russell Saint Vital Saint-Boniface
Saint-Claude Saint-Pierre-Jolys Sainte-Anne Selkirk
Seven Sisters Falls Sherridon Shoal Lake Snow Lake
Souris Southport Sprague Steinbach
Stonewall Swan River The Pas Thompson
Transcona Treherne Virden Wabowden
Whitemouth Winkler Winnipeg Winnipeg Beach

 Canadian Archival Resources on the Internet - Manitoba

 Cyndi's Manitoba

 Cyndi's Canada Military Links

 National Archives of Canada

 Provincial Archives of Manitoba

 The Canadian Library Index - Manitoba

Index of Early Manitoba Mennonite Church Registers

 Land Grants of Western Canada - 1870 to 1930




Copyright 2005-2015
All Rights Reserved